What can I do?

We are an entirely not for profit group, and we rely on the contributions of others who want to help to protect our beautiful corner from mining!

One of the greatest ways to be a part of saving the Hauraki Coromandel (again) is to join – and of course to Donate! Click the link to donate now online. Or you can donate directly into our account:

Bank Kiwibank, Name Coromandel Watchdog of Hauraki 38-9006-0733863-00

A seriously helpful and effective way of supporting our work is to become a Sustaining Donor. $20 p/month makes a real difference! Making a regular donation to us is one of the most helpful ways of supporting our work, as it gives us some stability of income.  

Email info@watchdog.org.nz to discuss further, or set it up yourself today (Coromandel Watchdog of Hauraki # 38-9006-0733863-00, reference: donor).

Another great way to help is to sign up to our ‘ground crew’ – go on a list to get a call/email if we are having an action or event… no committee meetings, no commitment other than hearing about stuff we need DONE, you can pick and choose! For example, we might need people to get out there and gather some signatures for a petition… just flick us an email info@watchdog.org.nz to sign up (put ground crew in the subject line).

Or, you could join a local group and help us with the work! Again, an email is all it takes and we can connect you to the right people. There are no specific requirements to getting involved, but you do have to share our objective – to keep the Hauraki Coromandel mine-free!

And of course, never underestimate the power of letter writing – especially to our politicians! They need to know what will get the votes – and what won’t.

Some points you could raise: undermining us leaves a toxic legacy just as open cast does – tailings, heavy metal leaching, unstable geography, water pollution (of aquifers, as well as above ground!), industrialization of our precious landscapes, our other industries compromised, both physically but also in the ‘minds eye’ – the unique, famous Hauraki Coromandel riddled with tunnels leaking heavy metals into our coast, trucks coming and going – not quite the image we have now!

Email addresses for Ministers include:

Prime Minister: Christopher Luxon

Christopher.Luxon@parliament.govt.nz

Minister Conservation: Hon Tama Potaka

Tama.Potaka@parliament.govt.nz

Minister Regional Development and Resources: Shane Jones

Shane.Jones@parliament.govt.nz

Minister for Environment: Penny Simmonds

Penny.Simonds@parliament.govt.nz

Minister Economic Development: Melissa Lee

Melissa.Lee@parliament.govt.nz

Minister Tourism: Matt Doocey

Matt.Doocey@parliament.govt.nz

Minister of Climate Change: Simon Watts

Simon.Watts@parliament.govt.nz

Waikato Hauraki MP: Hana-Rawhiti Maipi-Clarke

Hana-Rawhiti.Maipi-Clarke@parliament.govt.nz

Local Minister of Parliament: Scott Simpson 

mpcoromandel@parliament.govt.nz