What can I do?

One of the greatest ways to be a part of saving the Hauraki Coromandel (again) is to join – and of course to donate!

Right now, we are also running a petition through Action Station, calling on the Government to place an immediate moratorium on all new mining activity on conservation land since the 2017 announcement that there would be no new mines on conservation land.  Please sign here and share throughout your networks!

Another great way to help is to sign up to our ‘ground crew’ – go on a list to get a call/email if we are having an action or event… no committee meetings, no commitment other than hearing about stuff we need DONE, you can pick and choose! For example, at the moment we are asking people to get out there and gather some signatures for our current petition… just flick us an email info@watchdog.org.nz to sign up (put ground crew in the subject line).

Or, you could join our committee and help us with the work! Again, an email is all it takes. We move meetings around the area, and often have meetings via Zoom to save on travel! Our committee is made up of people from around the Hauraki Coromandel, there are no professional requirements to be a committee member – but you do have to share our objective – to keep the Hauraki Coromandel mine-free!

And of course, never underestimate the power of letter writing – especially to our politicians! They need to know what will get the votes – and what won’t.

Some points you could raise: undermining us leaves a toxic legacy just as open cast does – tailings, heavy metal leaching, unstable geography, water pollution (of aquifers, as well as above ground!), industrialization of our precious landscapes, our other industries compromised, both physically but also in the ‘minds eye’ – the unique, famous Hauraki Coromandel riddled with tunnels leaking heavy metals into our coast, trucks coming and going – not quite the image we have now!

Email addresses for Ministers include:

Prime Minister: Jacinda Ardern 


Minister Conservation: Kiritapu Allan 


Minister Minerals and Resources: Megan Woods 


Minister for Environment: David Parker 


Minister Economic and Regional Development: Stewart Nash 


Minister Tourism: Sewart Nash 


Waikato Hauraki MP: Nanaia Mahuta 


Local Minister of Parliament: Scott Simpson 


‘Buddy MP’ for the Coromandel: Jan Tinetti